Shimizu S-Pulse

Prefecture Shizuoka
Stadium/Arena IAI Stadium Nihondaira 

Shimizu S-Pulse competes in the J-League, J1 division. It is one of the original 10 teams that have participated in the J-League since its inaugural year in 1993.

However, the J-League championship has yet to be achieved. The closest Shimizu came to winning the J-League was in 1999. In that year, the J-League was divided into the first and second stages, and Shimizu won the second half and faced our rivals Iwata in the championship.

However, Shimizu were defeated by Jubilo Iwata in the championship, and could not achieve their long-cherished dream.

Team Information

Team: Shimizu S-Pulse
City: Shimizu City, Shizuoka
Team Name Origin: The name is a combination of the initial letter S, which stands for Soccer, Shimizu, and Shizuoka, and "pulse," which means heartbeat in English.
Year of Joined the J League: 1991
Titles: J League Cup(1), Emperor's Cup(1)
Highest Ranking: 2nd (1999)
The player signed with overseas clubs: Shinji Okazaki, Kazuyuki Toda
The player acquired from overseas clubs: Fredrik Ljungberg(Sweden), Milivoje NOVAKOVIC(Slovenia)

    Did this page help you?