Cerezo Osaka

Prefecture Osaka
Stadium/Arena Yanmar Stadium Nagai 

Cerezo Osaka competes in the J-League, J1 division.

Although they have yet to win the J-League title, Cerezo Osaka came the closest to winning the championship in 2005. They were in first place before the final game of the season, and if they won the final game, they would have won the championship for the first time in their history. That season, Gamba Osaka, also based in Osaka, overturned the result to win the championship. Cerezo Osaka ended up in 5th place in the final standings of that season.

It was in 2017 that Cerezo Osaka won its first title. First, they won the Lewin Cup, and then they won the Emperor's Cup, making it a double crown.

Cerezo Osaka's academy has produced many players who have gone on to represent Japan in their respective age groups, such as Shinji Kagawa and Takumi Minamino.

Team Information

Team: Cerezo Osaka
City: Osaka City, Osaka
Team Name Origin: The name "Cerezo" means cherry blossom in Spanish. Like the cherry blossom, the national flower of Japan, the name expresses the hope that the team will grow to represent Japan. .
Year of Joined the J League: 1995
Titles: J League Cup(1), Emperor's Cup(1)
Highest Ranking: 3rd (2010, 2017)
The player signed with overseas clubs: Shinji Kagawa, Takumi Minamino, Takashi Inui, Hiroshi Kiyotake
The player acquired from overseas clubs: Diego Forlan (Uruguay)

    Did this page help you?