Saitama Seibu Lions

Prefecture Saitama
Stadium/Arena MetLife Dome 

Saitama Seibu Lions are a member of the Pacific League of professional baseball in Japan.

Seibu Lions are a powerful team that represents the Pacific League. In the past few years, they have won two consecutive league championships in 2018 and 2019, although the Japan championship has been handed over to SoftBank.

The golden age of the Seibu Lions was from the 1980's to the 1990's. In the 1980's, they won six league championships, in the 1990's, they won seven league championships, and in the 1980's, they won the Japan championship five times, including three consecutive Japan Series championships in 1986, 1987, and 1988. In the 1980s, the team won five Japan championships, including three consecutive Japan Series titles in 1986, 1987, and 1988, and in the 1990s, the team won three consecutive titles in 1990, 1991, and 1992.

Team Information

Team: Saitama Seibu Lions
Location: Saitama
Ballpark: MetLife Dome
Year founded: 1949
Management: Seibu Railway
Titles:Japan Series(13), Pacific League(23)
Retired numbers: 24 Kazuhisa Inao
Former players related to MLB:

Kazuo Matsui (to New York Mets)
Daisuke Matsuzaka (to Boston Red Sox)
Yusei Kikuchi (to Seattle Mariners)
Shogo Akiyama (to Cincinnati Reds)
Ton Fernandes (Toronto Blue Jays)
Terry Whitfield  (San Francisco Giants)

    Did this page help you?