Yokohama F. Marinos

Prefecture Kanagawa
Stadium/Arena Nissan Stadium 

Yokohama F. Marinos competes in the J League, J1 division.

Marinos is one of the original 10 teams that have participated in the J-League since its first year. The "F" in Marinos was added after the team merged with the Yokohama Flugels, which competed in the J-League until 1999, and the initial "F" of the Flugels was added.

The opening match of the inaugural season of the J-League on May 15, 1993 was played between Marinos and Verdy Kawasaki. The emotional experience of that day was a moment that anyone who had supported soccer would never forget.

Marinos won back-to-back titles in 2003 and 2004. They then went on to win the title in 2019. Their home stadium, Nissan Stadium, is one of the most crowd-pleasing stadiums in the country. The stadium, which hosted the 2002 World Cup final, is home to Yokohama F. Marinos.

Team Information

Team: Yokohama F. Marinos
City: Yokohama City, Kanagawa
Team Name Origin: The name "Marinos" is Spanish for "sailors," a reference to the image of sailing across the seven seas to reach the world and the port city of Yokohama.
Year of Joined the J League: 1991
Titles: J League(4), J League Cup(1), Emperor's Cup(2)
The player signed with overseas clubs: Yoshikatsu Kawaguchi, Shunsuke Nakamura
The player acquired from overseas clubs: Ramon Diaz(Argentina), Ramon Medina Bello(Argentina), Julio Salinas(Spain)

    Did this page help you?