Nagoya Grampus

Prefecture Aichi
Stadium/Arena Toyota Stadium 

Nagoya Grampus competes in the J-League, J1 division.
It is one of the original 10 teams that have participated in the J-League since its inaugural year in 1993.

Nagoya Grampus was led by world-renowned coach Arsene Wenger for two seasons, 1995 and 1996, and in 1996, the team was placed on a one-season basis, and although it lost the championship to Kashima Antlers, it won the Suntory Cup Championship Final, which was an alternative to the championship, consisting of the top two teams in the league and the top two teams in the Yamazaki Nabisco Cup. The top two teams in the league and the top two teams in the Yamazaki Nabisco Cup won the Suntory Cup Championship Final.

Nagoya's long awaited victory in J1 came in 2010. In the 2010 season, Stojkovic's third year in charge, Nagoya finally won their first championship in their 18th year in the J-League with a historic victory.

In the 2021 season, all games will be held at Toyota Stadium.

Team Information

Team: Nagoya Grampus
City: Nagoya City, Aichi
Team Name Origin: The symbol of Nagoya is the orca. Grampus, which means Orca /Cetacean in English, became the name of the club.
Year of Joined the J League: 1991
Titles: J League(1),  Emperor's Cup(2)
The player signed with overseas clubss: Maya Yoshida, Keisuke Honda
The player acquired from overseas clubs: Arsene Wenger(France/Manager), Gary Lineker (England), Dragan Stojkovic (Serbia), Joshua Kennedy(Australia)

    Did this page help you?