Tokyo Yakult Swallows

Prefecture Tokyo
Stadium/Arena Meiji Jingu Stadium 

Tokyo Yakult Swallows are a member of the Central League of professional baseball in Japan.

It was in 1978 that Yakult won the Japan championship. After winning the Central League that year, Yakult battled the Hankyu Braves in the Japan Series. The series turned into a heated battle, and the winner went to the seventh and final game. 
In the bottom of the 6th inning, with one out, Katsuo Osugi(Yakult Swallows) hit a huge fly ball to the left field pole, which was ruled a home run. However, Hankyu manager Ueda protested vehemently against the decision. The game was resumed after an interruption of 1 hour and 19 minutes, and Yakult won the game 4-0 for the first time in their history.

In the 1990s, Yakult entered a golden age.
In 1992, Yakult lost the Japan Series to Seibu, but won the Central League championship, and the following year, in 1993, Yakult took revenge on Seibu and won the Japan Championship.
The following year, in 1993, they took revenge on Seibu and won the Japan championship. They also won the Japan championship in 1995 and 1997.

At a Yakult game, fans wave plastic umbrellas and sing the Tokyo Ondo before the attack in the bottom of the seventh inning at Jingu Stadium when a score is scored.

Team Information

Team: Tokyo Yakult Swallows
Location: Tokyo
Ballpark: Meiji Jingu Stadium
Year founded: 1950
Management: Yakult Honsha
Titles:Japan Series(5), Central League(7)
Retired numbers: None
Former players related to MLB:
Masato Yoshii (to New York Mets)
Kazuhisa Ishii (to Los Angeles Dodgers)
Shingo Takatsu (to Chicago White Sox)
Akinori Iwamura (to Tampa Bay Rays)
Ryota Igarashi (to New York Mets)
Norichika Aoki (to Milwaukee Brewers)
Tony Barnette (to Texas Rangers)
Bob Horner (Atlanta Braves)
Floyd Bannister (Kansas City Royals)
Larry Parrish (Texas Rangers)

    Did this page help you?