Yokohama DeNA Baystars

Prefecture Kanagawa
Stadium/Arena Yokohama Stadium 

The Yokohama DeNA BayStars is a member of the Central League of professional baseball in Japan.

In 1992, the team, which had previously been the Taiyo Whales, changed its name to the Yokohama BayStars when the parent company changed its name, aiming to become a community-based citizen baseball team.

It was in 1998 that Yokohama turned into a melting pot of excitement.
That year, the BayStars established a winning pattern with their unflappable pitcher, Masahiro Sasaki, and full complement of strong hitters.

They won the Central League championship for the first time in 38 years. After that, they beat the Seibu Lions in the Japan Series, which was said to be a longshot, and won the Japan championship, making the city of Yokohama more exciting.
In 2012, the parent company of the stadium was changed to DeNA, and the stadium has been successful in attracting many fans on game days.

Team Information

Team: Yokohama DeNA Baystars
Location: Kanagawa
Ballpark: Yokohama Stadium
Year founded: 1949
Ownership: DeNA
Titles:Japan Series(2), Central League(2)
Retired numbers: None
Former players related to MLB:
Kazuhiro Sasaki (to Seattle Mariners)
Takashi Saito (to Los Angeles Dodgers)
Yoshitomo Tsutsugo (to Tampa Bay Rays)
Yulieski Gourriel (to Houston Astros)

Felix Millan (New York Mets etc)
Nyjer Morgan (Milwaukee Brewers etc)

    Did this page help you?